Supervisory Board

According to the Act on Employment Pension Insurance Companies, an employment pension insurance company shall have a Supervisory Board.

The Supervisory Board supervises the company’s administration under the leadership of the Board of Directors and the Managing Director. The other duties of the Supervisory Board are listed in the law and in the Articles of Association.

The Supervisory Board of Elo consists of 44 members who are elected by the Annual General Meeting for three years at a time. One third of the members shall resign each year. Half of the members of the Supervisory Board are elected from among candidates put forth by major employer and employee organisations. An equal number of members shall be elected from the candidates put forth by the employer and employee organisations.

The Supervisory Board elects the Chairman and Deputy Chairman from among its members for one year at a time.

Members of the Supervisory Board

Klaus Saarikallio, Normek Group Oy, term expires in 2019

First Deputy Chairman:
Pekka Kampman, Project Manager, Y-Foundation, term expires in 2020 

Second Deputy Chairman:
Ilkka Brotherus, Managing Director, Sinituote Oy,  term expires in 2021

Vesa Aallosvirta, Organisational Manager, The Finnish Industrial Union, term expires in 2020
Antti Hakala, Director, Trade Union Pro, term expires in 2021   
Maria Hanho, Managing Director, Vaissi Oy, term expires in 2020
Nanna Hietala, Chairman of the Board, MSK Group, term expires in 2020 
Maija Hjelt, Senior Vice President, Finance, Veikkaus Oy, term expires in 2021 
Sauli Huikuri
, Chairman of the Board, Hätälä Oy,term expires in 2021    
Tero Jussila, CFO, Maintpartner Group Oy, term expires in 2020
Esko Jääskeläinen
, Managing Director, Suur-Seutu, Cooperative Society SSO, term expires in 2019
Olavi Kaukonen, Managing Director, A-Clinic Foundation, term expires in 2020
Jaakko Kiiski, Executive Director, YTY – Association for Managers and Professional, term expires in 2019
Kalle Kujanpää
, CFO, Finn-Power Corporation, term expires in 2021 
Veli-Matti Kuntonen
, Chairman, Finnish Foodworkers’ Union SEL, term expires in 2021 
Lasse Laurikainen, Vice Chair, Union of Professional Engineers in Finland, term expires in 2021    
Mikko Leppälä, Vice President, Nipromec Group, term expires in 2020
Pekka Metsi, CEO, Granlund Oy, term expires in 2019
Harri Miettinen, Managing Director, Kymen Seudun Osuuskauppa, term expires in 2019  
Timo Mäki-Ullakko, CEO, Pirkanmaa Cooperative Society, term expires in 2021  
Mikael Pentikäinen, CEO, The Federation of Finnish Enterprises, term expires in 2020 
Terhi Penttilä, Managing Director, Länsilinjat Oy, term expires in 2020
Heikki Pesu, CEO, Are Oy, term expires in 2019   
Marko Piirainen, Chairman, Transport Workers’ Union AKT, term expires in 2020
Katariina Poskiparta, Managing Director, Finnish Student Health Service, term expires in 2019
Antti Rantalainen, CEO, Rantalainen Group Oy, term expires in 2021 
Merja Rinne, Head of Union Affairs, The Finnish Industrial Union, term expires in 2019
Ansu Saarela
, CFO, Bauhaus & Co Ky,term expires in 2019   
Antti Sahi, Secretary General, Central Union of Agricultural Producers and Forest Owners MTK, term expires in 2019 
Paula Salastie, CEO, Teknos Group Oy, term expires in 2019
Kimmo Simberg, CEO, Etelä-Pohjanmaan Osuuskauppa, term expires in 2020
Tommi Sova, Managing Director, Intrum Justitia Oy, term expires in 2020  
Mika Varjonen, Executive Director, Tradenomiliitto TRAL,  term expires in 2020   
Pentti Virtanen, Managing Director, FSP Finnish Steel Painting Oy, term expires in 2021
Tapio Volanen, Senior Vice President, CGI Northern Europe, term expires in 2019  
Olli Vormisto, Managing Director, Osuuskauppa Hämeenmaa, term expires in 2020 
Janne Ylinen
, Managing Director, Kokkolan Halpa-Halli Oy, term expires in 2019
Jaana Ylitalo
, First Deputy Chairman, Service Union United PAM, term expires in 2021
Satu Yrjänen, CEO, Kantar TNS Oy, term expires in 2021 

Election Committee of the Supervisory Board

The task of the Election Committee elected by the Supervisory Board is to prepare proposals concerning the election and remuneration of the members of the Supervisory Board and the Board of Directors.

The six members of the Election Committee include Managing Director Klaus Saarikallio, Managing Director Ilkka Brotherus and Managing Director Harri Miettinen from Elo's Supervisory Board as members put forth by the policyholders.

The members from Elo’s Supervisory Board put forth by the insured include First Deputy Chairman Jaana Ylitalo, Project Manger Pekka Kampman and Executive Director Mika Varjonen. The Chairman of the Election Committee is Klaus Saarikallio and the Deputy Chairman is Jaana Ylitalo.