New members join Elo’s Board of Directors on 1 January 2020


In its meeting on 26 November, Elo’s Supervisory Board decided on the members of the Board of Directors for the term of 2020–2022. A new Chairman and Deputy Chairman were also elected to the Supervisory Board at the same meeting.

The composition of Elo’s Board of Directors will change as of 1 January 2020. The number of members will remain the same, but the number of members representing employees will increase in accordance with the competitiveness pact signed by the labour market organisations in 2016.   

New members will include Sture Fjäder, President of Akava, and Juha Koponen, who will assume the position of Chairman of the Board of LocalTapiola General Insurance Company and LocalTapiola Mutual Life Insurance Company on 1 January 2020. Aki Käyhkö, Managing Director of Scandic Hotels Oy, was elected as a new deputy member. Marjo Matikainen-Kallström will shift to the role of deputy member.

Erkki Moisander, Olavi Nieminen and Jouko Liimatainen will leave the Board of Directors.

In January 2020, the Board of Directors will elect its Chairman and Deputy Chairmen from among its members.

Elo’s Board of Directors starting 1 January 2020

Antti Aho, Managing Director, Aava Terveyspalvelut Oy
Sture Fjäder, President of Akava
Minna Helle, Executive Director of Industrial Relations, Technology Industries of Finland
Jari Karlson, Chief Financial Officer, Orion Corporation
Juha Koponen, Chairman of the Board as of 1 January 2020 for LocalTapiola General Insurance Company and LocalTapiola Mutual Life Insurance Company
Antti Kuljukka, Group CEO, Fennia Group
Janne Makkula, Labour Market Director, Suomen Yrittäjät
Jorma Malinen, President, Trade Union Pro
Susa Nikula, Executive Vice President, SOK Corporation
Sinikka Näätsaari, Head of Pension Policy, Central Organisation of Finnish Trade Unions SAK
Ann Selin, Executive Advisor, Service Union United PAM
Niklas Sonkin, President and CEO, Accountor Holding Oy

Deputy Members
Aki Käyhkö, Managing Director, Scandic Hotels Oy
Marjo Matikainen-Kallström, Chairman of the Board, Academic Engineers and Architects in Finland TEK
Esa Neuvonen, Executive Vice President, Business premises and Partnership properties segments, YIT Corporation
Penna Urrila, Director of Economic Policy, Confederation of Finnish Industries EK

Ilkka Brotherus elected Chairman of the Supervisory Board

Ilkka Brotherus, Chairman of the Board at Sinituote Oy, was elected as the new Chairman of the Supervisory Board. Pekka Kampman, Director of Construction for Y-Foundation, will continue as the First Deputy Chairman. Satu Yrjänen, CEO of Kantar TNS Oy, was elected as Second Deputy Chairman.

Ilkka Brotherus, Harri Miettinen, Satu Yrjänen, Pekka Kampman, Mats Nyman and Jaana Ylitalo were elected to the Election Committee of the Supervisory Board for the term 2020–2022. Ilkka Brotherus was elected for the year of 2020 as Chairman of the Election Committee and Jaana Ylitalo was elected Deputy Chairman.


Further information
Harri Christensen, Director, Legal Affairs, tel. +358 (0)40 518 7284