Jump to content

The Supervisory Board

According to the Act on Employment Pension Insurance Companies, an employment pension insurance company shall have a Supervisory Board.

The Supervisory Board supervises the company’s administration under the leadership of the Board of Directors and the Managing Director. The other duties of the Supervisory Board are listed in the law and in the Articles of Association.

The Supervisory Board of Elo consists of 42 members who are elected by the Annual General Meeting for three years at a time. One third of the members shall resign each year. The representatives elected from among those persons proposed by major central labour market organisations representing employees shall be a minimum of one third of the members of the Supervisory Board and the representatives elected from among those persons proposed by major central labour market organisations representing employers shall be a minimum of one sixth of the members of the Supervisory Board.

The Supervisory Board elects the Chairman and Deputy Chairman from among its members for one year at a time.

Members of the Supervisory Board

Ilkka Brotherus, Chairman of the Board , Sinituote Oy,  term expires in 2024

First Deputy Chairman:
Pekka Kampman, Project Manager, Y-Foundation, term expires in 2023 

Second Deputy Chairman:
Satu Yrjänen, CEO, Kantar TNS Oy, term expires in 2024 

Vesa Aallosvirta, Organisational Manager, The Finnish Industrial Union, term expires in 2023
Martti Ala-Härkönen, CFO, Caverion Corporation, term expires in 2023   
Stefan Borgman, Chairman, METO Forestry Experts' Association, term expires in 2022
Pekka Eloholma, CEO, Sitowise Ltd, term expires in 2022 
Antti Hakala
, Director, Trade Union Pro, term expires in 2024   
Juha Hakkarainen, Forestry Director, Central Union of Agricultural Producers and Forest Owners (MTK), term expires in 2022
Maria Hanho
, Chairman of the Board, Vaissi Oy, term expires in 2023 
Nanna Hietala, Chairman of the Board, MSK Group, term expires in 2023 
Ulla Hopponen, Financial Manager, Industrial Union, term expires in 2022
Sauli Huikuri
, Chairman of the Board, Hätälä Oy,term expires in 2024 
Heidi Jaara, Member of the Board, Balmuir Oy, term expires in 2022
Olavi Kaukonen, term expires in 2023 
Kalle Kujanpää
, CFO, Finn-Power Corporation, term expires in 2024 
Veli-Matti Kuntonen
, Chairman, Finnish Foodworkers’ Union SEL, term expires in 2024 
Lasse Laurikainen, Chairman, Helsingin Insinöörit HI ry, term expires in 2024 
Leena-Mari Lähteenmaa, Managing Director, CGI Finland Ltd, term expires in 2022   
Pekka Metsi, CEO, Granlund Oy, term expires in 2022
Harri Miettinen, Managing Director, Kymen Seudun Osuuskauppa, term expires in 2022  
Timo Mäki-Ullakko, CEO, Pirkanmaa Cooperative Society, term expires in 2024 
Mats Nyman, Executive Director, YTY –Association for Managers and Professionals, term expires in 2022 
Mikael Pentikäinen, CEO, The Federation of Finnish Enterprises, term expires in 2023 
Terhi Penttilä, Managing Director, Länsilinjat Oy, term expires in 2023
Marko Piirainen, Director, Central Organisation of Trade Unions SAK, term expires in 2023 
Katariina Poskiparta, Managing Director, Finnish Student Health Service, term expires in 2022 
Antti Rantalainen, Chairman of the Board, Rantalainen Group Oy, term expires in 2024  
Ville-Veikko Rantamaula
, Director, Professionals of Business and Technology (TRAL), term expires in 2023
Pii Raulo, EVP, Human Resources, YIT Group, term expires in 2023 
Millariikka Rytkönen, Chair, Tehy –The Union of Health and Social Care Professionals in Finland, term expires in 2022 
Ansu Saarela, CFO, Bauhaus & Co Ky,term expires in 2022 
Mikko Salo, General Secretary, Union of Professionals in Natural, Environmental and Forestry Sciences Loimu, term expires in 2024 
Olli Sarekoski, CEO, Veikkaus Ltd, term expires in 2024  
Kimmo Simberg, CEO, Etelä-Pohjanmaan Osuuskauppa, term expires in 2023
Tommi Sova, Managing Director, Intrum Oy, term expires in 2023 
Katja Syvärinen, Vice President, Director, Central Organisation of Finnish Trade Unions SAK, term expires in 2022  
Pentti Virtanen, Vice Chairman, FSP Finnish Steel Painting Oy, term expires in 2024
Olli Vormisto, Managing Director, Osuuskauppa Hämeenmaa, term expires in 2023  
Janne Ylinen, Managing Director, Kokkolan Halpa-Halli Oy, term expires in 2022 
Jaana Ylitalo, Collective Bargaining Director, Service Union United PAM, term expires in 2024

Election Committee of the Supervisory Board

The task of the Election Committee elected by the Supervisory Board is to prepare proposals concerning the election and remuneration of the members of the Supervisory Board and the Board of Directors.

The six members of the Election Committee include Chairman of the Board  Ilkka Brotherus, CEO Satu Yrjänen and Managing Director Harri Miettinen from Elo's Supervisory Board as members put forth by the policyholders.

The members from Elo’s Supervisory Board put forth by the insured include Collective Bargaining Director Jaana Ylitalo, Project Manger Pekka Kampman and Executive Director Mats Nyman. The Chairman of the Election Committee is Ilkka Brotherus and the Deputy Chairman is Jaana Ylitalo.